the portal series

And now for something completely different. I was doing 20 new pieces for the Gawker Art Show in NY. I did a series of finger puppet portraits that I will add later, as there’s many of them, and I also did a few Tarotbots, which are robotic reinterpretations of tarot cards, but those proved to be far more time-consuming than originally anticipated and I only ended up doing 3 of those. Then I did this short series that I call, “Portal” which unfortunately there wasn’t room for it in the show so I’m showing it for the first time right here, right now.

I wanted to depict that feeling I think most of us have, of seeking, of trying, of finally finding. For many of my earlier years, I felt like I was searching for something that was missing, and this series symbolizes that universal journey. Seeking meaning, seeking purpose, seeking love, seeking that missing piece or that healing or forgiveness or resolution or muse or closure or, you get the idea.  I decided to do it in a chalkboard style, similar to the finger puppet portraits which I’ll post here later.  Something about it reminds me of some Led Zeppelin album cover artwork I’d seen long ago, which may have given me a bit of inspiration for this character in this new series. So without further rambling, I give you, Portal.

Seek

Seek

Quest

Quest

Reflect

Reflect

Reveal

Reveal

Inspect

Inspect

Rejoice

Rejoice

Cherish

Cherish

~ by element42 on July 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
